A Consequential President

A Consequential President

The Legacy of Barack Obama

Barack Obama was once a most unlikely candidate, but his successful campaign for the White House made him a worldwide sensation and a transformative figure even before he was inaugurated. Elected as the Iraq War and the Great Recession had discouraged millions of Americans, Obama made a promise of hope that revived the national spirit. Soon after he occupied the White House, Congress approved his economic-recovery act and his program to save the U.S. auto industry. Both worked better than any observer predicted, and together they powered a recovery that has seen growth return and unemployment reduced to below five percent. Today the American economy is again the most vibrant in the world and its recovery has far outpaced Western Europe's.

A First-Class Catastrophe

A First-Class Catastrophe

The Road to Black Monday, the Worst Day in Wall Street History

The definitive account of the crash of 1987, a cautionary tale of how the U.S. financial system nearly collapsed--from the bestselling author of The Wizard of Lies

America’s War for the Greater Middle East

America’s War for the Greater Middle East

A Military History

Retired army colonel and New York Times bestselling author Andrew J. Bacevich provides a searing reassessment of U.S. military policy in the Middle East over the past four decades.

Bill Clinton

Bill Clinton

The American Presidents Series: The 42nd President, 1993-2001

The president of larger-than-life ambitions and appetites whose term defined America at the close of the twentieth century

Consequence

Consequence

A Memoir

A man questions everything--his faith, his morality, his country--as he recounts his experience as an interrogator in Iraq; an unprecedented memoir and "an act of incredible bravery" (Phil Klay)

I Was Told to Come Alone

I Was Told to Come Alone

My Journey Behind the Lines of Jihad

“I was told to come alone. I was not to carry any identification, and would have to leave my cell phone, audio recorder, watch, and purse at my hotel. . . .”

Kill Chain

Kill Chain

The Rise of the High-Tech Assassins

An essential and page-turning narrative on the history of drone warfare by the acclaimed author of Rumsfeld, exploring how this practice emerged, who made it happen, and the real consequences of targeted killing

Kissinger's Shadow

Kissinger's Shadow

The Long Reach of America's Most Controversial Statesman

A new account of America's most controversial diplomat that moves beyond praise or condemnation to reveal Kissinger as the architect of America's current imperial stance

Labor Will Rule

Labor Will Rule

Sidney Hillman and the Rise of American Labor

"A superb, vibrant biography that mirrors American labor's "sea change" from insurgent proletariat to a force integrated into capitalist mass culture.—Publishers Weekly

Listen, Liberal

Listen, Liberal

Or, What Ever Happened to the Party of the People?

From the bestselling author of What's the Matter With Kansas, a scathing look at the standard-bearers of liberal politics -- a book that asks: what's the matter with Democrats?

Our Revolution

Our Revolution

A Future to Believe In

When Bernie Sanders began his race for the presidency, it was considered by the political establishment and the media to be a “fringe” campaign, something not to be taken seriously. After all, he was just an Independent senator from a small state with little name recognition. His campaign had no money, no political organization, and it was taking on the entire Democratic Party establishment.

Secrecy World

Secrecy World

Inside the Panama Papers Investigation of Illicit Money Networks and the Global Elite

A two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist takes us inside the world revealed by the Panama Papers, a landscape of illicit money, political corruption, and fraud on a global scale.

Shadow Government

Shadow Government

Surveillance, Secret Wars, and a Global Security State in a Single-Superpower World

Shadow Government offers a powerful survey of a democracy of the wealthy that your grandparents wouldn't have recognized.

Spy Schools

Spy Schools

How the CIA, FBI, and Foreign Intelligence Secretly Exploit America's Universities

Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Daniel Golden exposes how academia has become the center of foreign and domestic espionage—and why that is troubling news for our nation's security.

Tears We Cannot Stop

Tears We Cannot Stop

A Sermon to White America

“One of the most frank and searing discussions on race ... a deeply serious, urgent book, which should take its place in the tradition of Baldwin's The Fire Next Time and King's Why We Can't Wait. —The New York Times Book Review

The Age of Acquiescence

The Age of Acquiescence

The Life and Death of American Resistance to Organized Wealth and Power

"Sweeping and ambitious . . . Fraser weaves together a rich tapestry of history, statistics and barely suppressed outrage."—Washington Post

The Arab of the Future 2

The Arab of the Future 2

A Childhood in the Middle East, 1984-1985: A Graphic Memoir

The highly anticipated continuation of Riad Sattouf’s internationally acclaimed, #1 French bestseller, which was hailed by The New York Times as “a disquieting yet essential read”

The Beautiful Country and the Middle Kingdom

The Beautiful Country and the Middle Kingdom

America and China, 1776 to the Present

A remarkable history of the two-centuries-old relationship between the United States and China, from the Revolutionary War to the present day

The Complacent Class

The Complacent Class

The Self-Defeating Quest for the American Dream

Since Alexis de Tocqueville, restlessness has been accepted as a signature American trait. Our willingness to move, take risks, and adapt to change have produced a dynamic economy and a tradition of innovation from Ben Franklin to Steve Jobs.

The End of Victory Culture

The End of Victory Culture

Cold War America and the Disillusioning of a Generation

n a substantial new afterword to his classic account of the collapse of American triumphalism in the wake of World War II, Tom Engelhardt carries that story into the twenty-first century.

The Future We Want

The Future We Want

Radical Ideas for the New Century

A stirring blueprint for American equality, from the "breakout stars" (The New York Times) of the young new left

The Limousine Liberal

The Limousine Liberal

How an Incendiary Image United the Right and Fractured America

A renowned historian traces the genealogy of the "limousine liberal," the largely imagined enemy that has animated right-wing populism for nearly a century.

The Meaning of Michelle

The Meaning of Michelle

16 Writers on the Iconic First Lady and How Her Journey Inspires Our Own

Michelle Obama is unlike any other First Lady in American History. From her first moments on the public stage, she has challenged traditional American notions about what it means to be beautiful, to be strong, to be fashion-conscious, to be healthy, to be First Mom, to be a caretaker and hostess, and to be partner to the most powerful man in the world. What is remarkable is that, at 52, she is just getting started.

The Only Language They Understand

The Only Language They Understand

Forcing Compromise in Israel and Palestine

In a myth-busting analysis of the world's most intractable conflict, a star of Middle East reporting, "one of the most important writers" in the field (The New York Times), argues that only one weapon has yielded progress: force.

The Race for What's Left

The Race for What's Left

The Global Scramble for the World's Last Resources

The world is facing an unprecedented crisis of resource depletion---a crisis that encompasses shortages of oil and coal, copper and cobalt, water and arable land. With all of the Earth's accessible areas already being exploited, the desperate hunt for supplies has now reached the final frontiers.

The True Flag

The True Flag

Theodore Roosevelt, Mark Twain, and the Birth of American Empire

The bestselling author of Overthrow and The Brothers brings to life the forgotten political debate that set America’s interventionist course in the world for the twentieth century and beyond.

The United States of Fear

The United States of Fear

In 2008, when the U.S. National Intelligence Council issued its latest report meant for the administration of newly elected President Barack Obama, it predicted that the planet’s “sole superpower” would suffer a modest decline and a soft landing fifteen years hence.

This Fight Is Our Fight

This Fight Is Our Fight

The Battle to Save America's Middle Class

The fiery U.S. Senator from Massachusetts and bestselling author offers a passionate, inspiring book about why our middle class is under siege and how we can win the fight to save it

Verax

Verax

The True History of Whistleblowers, Drone Warfare, and Mass Surveillance: A Graphic Novel

rom a prize-winning journalist and the co-author of the best-selling Zahra's Paradise, a sweeping graphic history of electronic surveillance from 9/11 to the latest drone strike

Wall Street

Wall Street

America's Dream Palace

Wall Street: no other place on earth is so singularly identified with money and the power of money. And no other American institution has inspired such deep moral, cultural, and political ambivalence. Is the Street an unbreachable bulwark defending commercial order? Or is it a center of mad ambition?

War Is Not Over When It's Over

War Is Not Over When It's Over

Women Speak Out from the Ruins of War

From the renowned authority on domestic violence, a startlingly original inquiry into the aftermath of wars and their impact on the least visible victims: women